BSA Board of Directors

Brookhaven Science Associates is governed by a 16-member Board of Directors: Five are appointed by Stony Brook University, five by Battelle, and one each from six of the nation's premier research universities: Columbia, Cornell, Harvard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Princeton, and Yale.

The Board is responsible for:
• Setting overall Laboratory policy and direction (see Science & Technology Steering Committee)
• Conducting an annual review of overall contract performance
• Conducting independent corporate self-assessments, and
• Providing advice and assistance to the Laboratory Director on significant scientific, technical, or management issues.

Dr. Samuel L. Stanley 
is the current chair of the BSA Board.

The BSA Board is supported by several committees, including the Science & Technology Steering Committee, which commissions peer reviews of BNL's programs and scientific facilities, and advises the Board on scientific direction, user facility operation, and management and policy matters that directly affect the Laboratory's science mission.

BSA Board Members

Townsend STanley Baltay
Ronald D. Townsend 
BSA Board Chair 
Executive Vice President, Global
Laboratory Operations 
Battelle Memorial Institute
bio »
Samuel L. Stanley, Jr., MD
BSA Board Vice Chair 
Stony Brook University
bio »
Charles Baltay
Yale University
Professor, Physics & Astronomy
Designee for:
Richard Levin, President
bio »
Bernstein Buhrman Evans
Michael Alan Bernstein
Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Stony Brook University
bio »
Robert A. Buhrman
Cornell University
Senior Vice Provost for Research
Designee for:
David J. Skorton, President
bio »
Dave Evans
Executive Vice President & CFO
bio »
Deborah Gracio
Program Development, National Security
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
bio »
Kimberly Jeskie
Integrated Operations Support
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
bio »
David McComas
Vice President for Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, Professor of Astrophysical Sciences, Princeton University
bio »
Mueller McCullough Pearson
Alfred Mueller
Columbia University
Enrico Fermi Professor of Physics
Designee for:
Lee C. Bollinger, President
bio »
Richard McCullough
Harvard University
Vice Provost for Research
Designee for:
Drew Gilpin Faust, President
bio »
Erik W. Pearson
Vice President, Strategic Planning
Global Laboratory Operations 
bio »
Robert P. Redwine
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professor of Physics
Director, Bates Linear Accelerator Center
Designee for:
L. Rafael Reif, President
bio »

Richard Reeder
Vice President for Office of Brookhaven Affairs; Professor, Department of Geosciences, Stony Brook University
bio »
James Simons
President and CEO
Euclidean Capital LLC
Wolfgang Wander
Renaissance Technologies
bio »

BSA Officers







Doon Gibbs
BSA President and Lab Director,
Brookhaven National Laboratory
bio »
Anne Troutman
Secretary, BSA General Counsel,
Brookhaven National Laboratory
bio »
George Clark
Chief Financial Officer, BSA
Associate Laboratory Director for Business Services, Brookhaven National Laboratory
bio »











































































































































































img3 img4 img5 Battelle

One of ten national laboratories overseen and primarily funded by the Office of Science of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), Brookhaven National Laboratory conducts research in the physical, biomedical, and environmental sciences, as well as in energy technologies and national security. Brookhaven Lab also builds and operates major scientific facilities available to university, industry and government researchers. Brookhaven is operated and managed for DOE’s Office of Science by Brookhaven Science Associates, a limited-liability company founded by Stony Brook University, the largest academic user of Laboratory facilities, and Battelle, a nonprofit, applied science and technology organization.